The 14th edition of the Asia Cup will be the one of its kind since it will be the first time since 1984 that the biannual tournament will be played in the Twenty20 format. To know why this change has been incorporated and what else the 17-day event has to offer, here's a ready reckoner.

Why a T20 Asia Cup?

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has decided that from this edition onward, the tournament will be played in the same format as the World Cup that follows it, i.e., T20Is before the World Twenty20s and 50-over format before the ODI World Cups.

Defending Champions

Sri Lanka.


This will be the 14th edition of the tournament that was instituted in 1984 and the fifth time being played in Bangladesh. India and Sri Lanka have won the trophy for the most number of times - 5, followed by Pakistan who have won the title twice. Bangladesh are yet to lay their hands on the Asia Cup silverware.


Qualifiers: Feb 19-22 (6 matches)

Main Draw: Feb 24 to March 6 (11 matches)


The tournament is divided into two stages.

Stage 1. Qualifiers from Feb 19 to 22 featuring four ICC Associate Nations - Afghanistan, UAE, Oman and Hong Kong. Each team plays the other once in a round-robin format and the team finishing top qualifies for the Main Draw.

Stage 2. Main Draw from Feb 24 to March 6 featuring India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and one qualifier. Each team plays the other once in a round-robin format and the teams finishing No. 1 and No. 2 play the final.


All matches will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.


Qualifiers: 1300 IST and 1730 IST

Main Draw: 1900 IST


Qualifying Stage:

February 19: Afghanistan v UAE

February 19: Hong Kong v Oman

February 20: Hong Kong v UAE

February 20: Afghanistan v Hong Kong

February 21: Afghanistan v Oman

February 22: UAE v Oman

Main Draw:

February 24: Bangladesh vs India

February 25: Sri Lanka vs TBD

February 26: Bangladesh vs TBD

February 27: India vs Pakistan

February 28: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

February 29: Pakistan vs TBD

March 1: India vs Sri Lanka

March 2: Bangladesh vs Pakistan

March 3: India vs TBD

March 4: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

March 6: Final