Shahsank Manohar resigns and Ajay Shirke, Rajeev Shukla & Anurag Thakur in race for new BCCI president


BCCI president Shashank Manohar resigns as BCCI president to contest for the ICC chairman election. Since then Manohar was the president for the second time after Srinivasan’s departure. The lawyer by profession promised to reform the ICC and BCCI a better governing body of the game.

Shashank Manohar is in line to become ICC’s first ever independent chairman in May and could hold the position till 2021.


And he has said “no Member of the ICC is bigger than the other”, and so he has stripped England, Australia, and India of their permanent positions on the Executive Committee and the Financial & Commercial Affairs Committee.

All of which sounds a little too sensible. Manohar comes across like an actual sports administrator, not a star in a popular area. He seems to believe that it is his business to be efficient and even-handed. His reign promises to be good for the game, but terrible for the ratings.

Ajay Shirke, Rajeev Shukla, and current joint secretary Anurag Thakur are now the favorites to be president of Indian cricket. Anurag Thakur may have more chances as compare to other cause he was more popular as well but as Lodha Committee Suggest No Government or Political person should not be there so it may concern for him.