New Zealand have announced their 15-man squad for the 2019 ICC World Cup in England and Wales.

New Zealand selectors did spring a surprise or two with their picks. The biggest surprise was the inclusion of uncapped wicket keeper Tom Blundell.

Another big decision, they have picked spinner Ish Sodhi ahead of Todd Astle as the second spinning spot alongside Mitchell Santner.

“The key for us was finding the right balance for the squad and making sure we had our bases covered for what is going to be a very competitive World Cup,” coach Gary Stead said.

New Zealand 15-man squad:

Kane Williamson (captain)

Martin Guptill

Henry Nicholls

Ross Taylor

Tom Latham

Colin Munro

Tom Blundell

Jimmy Neesham

Colin de Grandhomme

Mitchell Santner

Ish Sodhi

Tim Southee

Matt Henry

Lockie Ferguson

Trent Boult