Puneri Paltan Team & Players: Pro Kabbadi League 2016


Insurekot Sports Limited, the Pune-based PKL franchise Puneri Paltan has had a terrific 2016 Pro Kabaddi League campaign after a couple of back-to-back disappointing seasons.

The PKL franchise who plays its home matches at the Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Pune finished at the bottom of the league table in the first two seasons of the domestic Indian Kabaddi tournament.

The Puneri Paltan lead by Manjeet Chillar and coached by Ashok Shinde, Puneri Paltan finished at 3rd place above the Bengal Warriors whom they eventually beat to end their 2016 campaign on a high, having won seven of their 14 group stage matches.

Puneri Paltan has retained two of their star performers, namely, Manjeet Chillar and Deepak Niwas Hooda. However, the fact that the Paltan decided not to retain, Ajay Thakur might come back to hurt them later.

Former Jaipur Pink Panther raider Sonu Narwal bought by Pune for the upcoming edition and former Dabang Delhi defender and captain Ravinder Pahal would be an excellent addition to the Puneri Paltan for the upcoming edition of the Pro Kabaddi League.

Puneri Paltan bolstered their squad by adding Nitin Tomar and Sgt Ravinder Kumar in the recently concluded Services Players’ draft process, aligned with the Services Sports Controlled Board (SSCB) and the Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India (AKFI).

This year Puneri Platan might be champion cause other team lost their players and Pune got new players and they got top defender of all season, they have top raider of all season and they have top all rounder of all season. So its look like RCB team in IPL. All top players are in one team.

Here is the full list of players that have been bought by the Puneri Paltan at the end of 2016 Pro Kabaddi League auction:

Players Position
I Ketut Ariana Defender
Gurpreet Singh Defender
Somvir Shekhar Defender
Ravinder Pahal Defender
Joginder Narwal Defender
Khomsan Thongkham Defender
Parmod Narwal All Rounder
Preetam Chhillar All Rounder
Ajay Thakur Raider
Sonu Narwal Raider
Jay Bahadur Bohara Raider
Anil Shriram Nimbolkar Raider
Nitin Tomar Raider
Sgt Ravinder Kumar Defender